Feature request / Bug report

Add option to make comment pane open automatically if there are comments

Commenting should be listed as one of the options under Document Properties > Initial View. I find that new many people have a hard time finding the comments, because the right hand pane is hidden and they don't know to click on that tiny little right-pointing arrow. Pleas add the option for the comment pane to be open automatically, just as we can already do with the bookmarks panel.

19 votes
Sign in
Check!
(thinking…)
Reset
or sign in with
  • facebook
  • google
    Password icon
    Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Kelly Vaughn shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

12 comments

Sign in
    Check!
    (thinking…)
    Reset
    or sign in with
    • facebook
    • google
      Password icon
      Signed in as (Sign out)
      Submitting...
      • Jane commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

As an instructor, I am hearing this as a request from more and more people, plus it was discussed on the Tech Wednesday this week. People don't know there is a panel and go lamely searching for the icons, missing many. Adding the Comments panel to Initial View should be a JDI.

• Karen Ellrick commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Is Acrobat "extensible"? In other words, is it possible for non-Adobe people to write add-ons/extensions/macros (whatever you might call them) that modify the behavior? If so, perhaps someone could write one for this.

• Carl Alexander commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

It would be nice if that grey "tiny little right-pointing arrow" was a more visible larger yellow side tab labeled "Comments" that could be clicked to open the right pane with comments selected.
        - Single clicking could open the pane to the previous width set during the program's current session.
        - Clicking and holding the tab, then dragging the tab leftward could set the pane's width.