Tell the user they need to SAVE!!
EXAMPLE: I just scanned 19 pages then clicked on TOOLS to use the stamp command. Aggghh I didnt realize that my original scans are now lost forever presumably becuase I didnt save or 'export' the scane? <weep>. Surely you should alert the user that he's not saved his work?